vCon Workshop

vCon is an open standard for conversation data. In December 2021 Thomas Howe, CTO of STROLID, introduced vCon.

We have iCal that enables anyone to store and exchange calendaring and scheduling information such as events, to-dos, journal entries, and free/busy information. And vCards so anyone can store and exchange electronic business cards, name and address information, phone numbers, e-mail addresses, URLs (Universal Resource Locator), logos, photographs, and audio clips. 

Yet despite all the talk about conversations in the programmable communications industry, conversation data remains trapped in silos. We need vCon (virtual Conversation, like vCard), an open standard for sharing conversation data: transcript, video, audio, participants, metadata like timestamps and location, tamper protections, certifications, etc.

Check out the vCon github repository and get involved, it’s open to everyone.

On Thursday June 9th at 11AM ET / 8AM PT / 4PM UK / 5PM CET we plan to run a vCon Workshop. Register here. The agenda will be:

  • Welcome and Intro from Thomas (10 mins)
  • vCon Walkthrough from Dan and Thomas (15 mins)
  • Use Cases, Analogies, Strategic Importance, Plans (10 mins)
  • Call to Action: Please provide feedback and become a contributor.
  • Q&A

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.